My Debut Novel: Blood Life

Blood Life is one book of a planned trilogy. I first finished writing it close to 15 years ago and have since rewritten it about 100 times. 😉 After finally finishing it, I realized that one of the characters had so much more to say, so I’ve begun writing her history, which will be released later this year as a prequel to Blood Life. Next year I’ll release the third in the series, a sequel, and that will be that! The vampires will go to sleep. Mine will, anyway.

Blood Life is a vampire/witch adventure story full of blood, magic, love, violence, and sex. It is no Twilight or Vampire Diaries!  It’s much darker and sexier, but equally as engrossing and unique. The witches and vampires of the fictional world of the Spectrum have united and created a race of half-breeds called the Combined. These are very powerful entities, but their race has been threatened by a rogue vampire with very old, powerful blood named Lokee, the son of the Great Witch, Devendra. This story is about letting Fate play out, but in all its turmoil, trying to save one woman who will be the key to saving the witches, the vampires, AND the Combined. Of course, the villain is very much against all that, and tortures her time and again to try to destroy her.

I learned a lot about my ability to tell a good, solid story writing this the 100 times it felt like I did. I had trouble letting it go, but finally decided it was time. And now, I can focus on the other two books, and the ones still begging to be written in completely different realms (other than the vampire/witch world). Blood Life is my first born, and I feel the name speaks for itself… a blood life, in the blood, of the blood.

The previous cover was a quick release, limited 1st edition intended for a short run. I purposefully released it with typos and imperfections (including two extra chapters that were cut) as a soft launch. If I ever make it huge, that one will really be worth something! This newer, more appealing cover (courtesy of the very talented Myah Frazer of Redeye Design Haus) is available now as the clean and pristine second edition release. This is the version that will go with me to signings (I have one scheduled the 22nd of April in Petaluma, CA) and be entered into at least four contests this year. I’ve sent press releases out to local and far-away newspapers, been using social marketing tools, submitting for editorial reviews, creating websites and author pages, joining writing groups, etc. I’m doing a lot here to market myself, but learning as I go, and all the help I can find/get is so appreciated. =)

I hope this helps me spread the word about my story! If you’d like to read it, it is available from various channels at:  http://www.giannaperada.com – please leave a review after you read it too.  xxoo

Leave a Reply

