Video Blog, Vlog, VeeLog?

ImageI recorded my first excerpt reading: Chapter 12 of Blood Life. In this scene, Roman, my male hero character, loses the love of his life to a scorned vampire, Lokee, in a brutal death. All four main characters at this early point in the book are introduced (though Alexandria already dead), and it is a pivotal point in time for Roman – he will now become a vampire and spend centuries waiting for Alexandria’s soul to be reborn so they can reunite. Devendra, my heroine of Combined blood (witch / vamp hybrid) will show her true form to Roman for the first time.

Chapter 12 was written before much of the book.  In fact, it was one of the first chapters I actually finished writing! The rest of the story centered around this very important section. It set the tone for all the characters in my mind, opening a pathway for the rest of their lives and intentions.  The quote at the beginning of the chapter, by William Blake, was also the first time I realized I wanted to have quotes to fill in blank spaces of the interior layout.

“Sleeping lyca lay
While the beasts of prey
Come from caverns deep
View’d the maid asleep.”

Key Character Introductions:

Roman – hero male, vampire, not terribly powerful but a great lover… so who cares, right?  haha

Alexandria/Alethea – the first introduction to a key female character, mortal, (later Alethea who will become a vampire), Roman’s soulmate. Alethea will be introduced in a later chapter, she is constantly antagonized by Lokee and part of an intense plan of Fate for the race of the Combined.

Devendra – my great witch, also a vampire (Combined), sort of a goddess incarnate, extremely powerful but held back in favor of letting Fate play out as it is supposed to. I am currently working on her book, a prequel leading up to Blood Life.

Lokee – born of Combined blood, very powerful main antagonist, Devendra’s son and archenemy, threatens the Combined race as a whole, destroyer of all things good.

Lillith – the Mother of the Combined, first a witch, then a vampire, will be much more active in Book Three, also the star of the 2nd edition book cover.

I posted my excerpt reading video on YouTube in my newly created channel. Please watch it! It is a collaboration of myself and my mother, a theater director and set designer extraordinaire.

Share it like crazy!! Help me get a little viral wit’it. 😉

http://youtu.be/0h0lgS0rRDM


4 comments on “Video Blog, Vlog, VeeLog?

  1. I can not wait to read this book .I had to order it from barnes and noble all they have is the ebook . But I want to own this book!. U read that chapter nicely.

    • Hi Jasmine! Thank you so much. You can buy the paperback from me directly – and I will sign it for you! If that is what you want. But since you already purchased the digital version? Let me know! It is usually available in paperback format on Amazon, however just today I had to make a change and wait for it to be approved. So sorry for that! What timing, eh? It will be back there in a few hours at most…

      You can get it signed from me at my website: http://www.giannaperada.com

      Either way, thank you again!! 😉

Leave a Reply

